When a traffic stop results in a driving-under-the-influence charge, seek help from a Virginia DUI lawyer. It is crucial that you connect with a lawyer as soon as possible to safeguard your rights and future.

A DUI is a criminal charge that can affect your driving privileges, career, and relationships. A Virginia DUI lawyer can review your charges and provide insight into your case. Managing your Virginia DUI case alone is not worth the risk. Instead, entrust your case to an experienced and skilled Virginia DUI lawyer. A free consultation can help you learn more about what penalties you face and how an attorney may be able to help you.

A Virginia DUI Charge is a Serious Matter

Virginia laws are strict, with stiff penalties.

If a night out with friends or a drink with dinner results in blue lights behind your car, your next steps are crucial. What you do and say can affect your list of charges and the severity of possible criminal penalties.

Factors that can make your DUI charge worse include:

  • Open container
  • Breath test refusal
  • Field sobriety test refusal
  • Driving on a suspended license.

The maximum blood alcohol content (BAC) level under Virginia law is .08 percent. For those with a commercial driver’s license, the BAC limit is .04 percent. Drivers under 21 face charges with a BAC of .02 percent.

Penalties increase in severity if a driver has a history of DUI convictions. Possible consequences include administrative license suspension (ALS), heavy fines, and/or possible jail time. A conviction may result in loss of your job and make it difficult to find a new one.

Law enforcement reports DUI offenses at the time of your arrest to the Central Criminal Records Exchange. This means your DUI arrest has the potential to leave you with a criminal record.

Virginia Cannabis Driving Laws

Marijuana for personal use remains illegal in Virginia. Driving under the influence of marijuana is also illegal and dangerous.

The Virginia Cannabis Control Authority outlines the following consequences for drivers who risk driving while high:

  • $250 mandatory fine
  • Loss of driver’s license for one year
  • One year in jail and/or a fine of up to $2,500.

If you face a driving under the influence charge relating to cannabis use, seek legal help. A Virginia DUI lawyer helps you by managing the details of your much-needed defense.

Why Choose Us for Your Virginia DUI

Your Virginia DUI Defense Matters

Choosing the right Virginia DUI attorney for your case is vital for protecting your future. A DUI conviction can follow you throughout your career and affect other areas of your life.

Virginia courts take a hard stand against those charged with driving under the influence. For your defense, you need an attorney who:

  • Listens
  • Is caring yet aggressive
  • Understands Virginia law
  • Has experience with Virginia DUI cases.

At Poindexter & Wright Law, we understand that a DUI arrest is frightening. Regardless of whether you have a previous record or it is your first arrest, we want to help you.

You do not have to fight your DUI charge alone. By placing it in our capable hands, you can rest easier knowing we will fight hard for the most favorable outcome possible.

How We Help

Poindexter & Wright Law Understand Virginia DUI Laws

Each Virginia DUI case is unique. At Poindexter & Wright Law, we carefully review the details of your traffic stop and arrest.  How your arrest occurred and whether it violated your rights is just one part of our process.

The how, when, where, and why of your DUI arrest are factors crucial for your case. A Virginia DUI lawyer from Poindexter & Wright Law knows how to interpret all data from your arrest. Upon a careful review, we build a strong defense for your DUI charge. Reduced or dismissed charges are examples of possible outcomes. It is important to remember, however, that each case is different and your outcome may vary from a similar DUI case.

We also support you during this time by providing important updates in a calm and caring manner.  Your lawyer will happily answer any questions you may have.

No one needs to fight a Virginia DUI charge alone. When criminally charged, there is too much at risk to represent yourself. Let Poindexter & Wright Law take on your case so that you can focus on your important and necessary daily tasks.

A driving under the influence charge is more than a traffic ticket. It is a serious criminal charge. Protect your best interests by contacting a Virginia DUI lawyer today.

Our Results Contact Us

Virginia DUI FAQs

A Virginia DUI lawyer answers frequently asked questions.

When should I contact a Virginia DUI lawyer?

It is best to contact a Virginia DUI lawyer as soon as possible following your arrest. Delaying contact can possibly harm your chances for the best defense possible.

What if a DUI accident results in death?

A DUI accident that results in death is a highly emotional and a very severe event. For the responsible driver, charges can include significant jail time and a possible wrongful death case from the victim’s family. A Virginia DUI attorney can help guide you through this complex legal process.

My teenage son was arrested for driving under the influence. What penalties does he face?

The state of Virginia has zero tolerance when it comes to underage drinking and driving. Any person under the age of 21 who operates a vehicle with a BAC level of .02 percent or higher but under .08 percent is guilty of a Class 1 Misdemeanor.

I am a commercial truck driver. Will my DUI arrest result in the loss of my license?

A Virginia DUI conviction can have a negative consequence on a commercial truck driver’s license. The severity of the penalties depends upon the driver’s overall record. Protect your career by contacting a Virginia DUI attorney as soon as possible.

Virginia DUI laws are quite complex. However, you do not have to navigate the legal process alone. Schedule a free consultation with a Virginia DUI lawyer today to get answers to your questions.

Virginia DUI Lawyers

Serving Smithfield, Surry, Hampton, Suffolk, Newport News, and Isle of Wright County

Drinking and driving is never acceptable. However, when charged, Virginia licensed drivers have the right to defend themselves. Pointdexter & Wright Law protects your rights by managing your case for you.

We offer free consultations for personal injury matters. For all other matters, we offer three options: (1) 15 minutes for $50; (2) 30 minutes for $100; (3) 1 hour for $150.

Time passes quickly following your arrest. The turmoil and stress can cause you to lose track of time. Before you know it, it is time to go to court.  Have you been in an accident or arrested for DUI? If so, Poindexter & Wright are the right attorneys to help you on your journey. Now is the right time, so call them in a hurry!

From our front desk to the attorneys you meet, you will find our staff friendly and helpful. Poindexter & Wright Law prepare for court from Day One.  We stand ready to fight your DUI charge; call us today at (434) 260-6881.

How can we help you?

Fill out the form below for a no-obligation review of your case